County Facts

Illinois-carroll-county-ilCarroll County Illinois is located in Northwestern Illinois along the banks of the Mississippi River. With gentle rolling hills and lush countryside, Carroll County is a great escape from the concrete and asphalt of the big cities. According to the 2010 census, Carroll County has a population of 15,387. The county seat is Mount Carroll. Although this may seem like a strange fact, the county has only one stop light, which is located in Savanna at the intersection of Routes 64 and 84.

Carroll County has a total area of 466.36 square miles, of which 444.81 square miles (or 95.38%) is land and 21.55 square miles (or 4.62%) is water. Mississippi Palisades State Park is located in this county, just north of the city of Savanna. Additionally, the Savanna Army Depot is located partly in this county.

Adjacent Counties

Jo Daviess County – northwest
Stephenson County – northeast
Ogle County – east
Whiteside County – south
Clinton County, Iowa – southwest (across the Mississippi River)
carroll-county-il-population-historyjackson County, Iowa – west (across the Mississippi River)

National Protected Area
Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge

Major Highways

US Route 52
Illinois Route 40
Illinois Route 64
Illinois Route 72
Illinois Route 73
Illinois Route 78
Illinois Route 84

Carroll County includes these three cities:

Mount Carroll

Carroll County includes these four villages:



Census Age Pyramid

Carroll County is divided into these twelve townships:

Cherry Grove-Shannon
Elkhorn Grove
Mount Carroll
Rock Creek-Lima


Climate Chart

School Districts

Chadwick-Milledgeville Community Unit School District 399
Eastland Community Unit School District 308
West Carroll Community Unit School District 314

Political Districts

Illinois 16th Congressional District
State House District 71
State House District 89
State Senate District 36
State Senate District 45

Climate and Weather
In recent years, average temperatures in the county seat of Mount Carroll have ranged from a low of 7 °F in January to a high of 85 °F in July. Although, a record low of −31 °F was recorded in January 1910 and a record high of 108 °F was recorded in July 1936. Average monthly precipitation ranged from 1.43 inches in January to 4.77 inches in June.

Notable People

  • Willis J. Bailey – United States Representative from Kansas and the 16th Governor of Kansas, born in Carroll County and Mount Carroll High School.
  • Samuel James Campbell – banker and philanthropist, born in Mount Carroll.
  • Charles Carroll – wealthy landowner and politician from Maryland, who signed the Declaration of Independence. Carroll, who died in 1832, was the last signer to die and is the county’s namesake.
  • Isaac Chambers – the first settler in the county.
  • Dale Gardner – former NASA astronaut, born in Savanna.
  • Wayne King – “America’s Waltz King”, musician, songwriter, singer, and orchestra leader, born in Savanna.
  • “Pete” Morris Elmer Lister –  Major League Baseball first baseman, who played for the Cleveland Naps during the 1907 season, born in Savanna.
  • Howard Kyle – (nee Vandergrift) noted actor, Union School class of 1879 valedictorian, grew up in Mount Carroll.
  • Suzanna W. Miles – archaeologist, anthropologist, ethnohistorian and Mayanist, born in Mount Carroll.
  • Ward Miller – outfielder for the five Major League Baseball teams, born in Mount Carroll.
  • Edward Seyfarth – inventor of an early ear piercing gun patented in 1880.
  • Neta Snook – pioneer woman aviator and aviation instructor, born in Mount Carroll.
  • Emmert L. Wingert – Wisconsin Supreme Court justice, born in Mount Carroll.
  • Billy Zoom – (Tyson Kindell) an American guitarist, best known as one of the founders of the punk rock band X, born in Savanna.

Notable Students of Shimer College in Mount Carroll

  • Robert Keohane – political scientist and noted author, grew up in Mount Carroll before attending Shimer.
  • Daniel Perlman – president of Suffolk University and president of Webster University.
  • Phoebe Snow – singer, songwriter, and guitarist, best known for her chart-topping 1975 hit “Poetry Man”.
  • Laurie Spiegel – composer whose most recent accolades are her work in the movie ‘The Hunger Games’.
  • Mary Wings – writer, artist, and musician.
  • Catherine “Cat” Yronwode – writer, editor, graphic designer, typesetter, publisher with an extensive career in the comic book industry.

Additional Resources:

Carroll County Fair
Official Website of Carroll County Government
National Register of Historic Places in Carroll County, Illinois